The Philippine government announced the extension of the ban on all travelers coming from India, Pakistan, Nepal, Bangladesh, Sri Langka, Oman, and the United Arab Emirates.
According to the Presidential spokesperson Harry Roque, President Rodrigo Duterte approved the extension upon the recommendation of the National Task Force Against COVID-19.
The travel restrictions are part of a broader strategy to prevent the spread of the B1617 variant, which was first identified in India and has been declared as a variant of concern by the World Health Organization.
The travel ban on India had been in place since April 29 and was supposed to end on Friday, May 14. It was extended until May 31, along with restrictions for travelers from Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Bangladesh, and Nepal introduced on May 7. Oman and UAE were included on May 14 to the list of countries covered by the ban.