Travelers from Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, and Sri Lanka are banned from entering the Philippines starting May 7 until May 14 to curb the spread of a reported “double mutant” coronavirus strain discovered in India.

“All passengers coming from or who have been to Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, and Sri Lanka within 14 days immediately preceding arrival in the Philippines shall be prohibited from entering the country effective 0001H of 07 May 2021 Manila time until 2359H 12 May 2021,” the memorandum read.

Meanwhile, all Filipino passengers coming from or who have been to the four countries within 14 days prior to arrival in the Philippines before May 7 shall not be denied entry but will be required to undergo an absolute facility-based 14-day quarantine despite obtaining a negative reverse transcription-polymerase chain reaction (RT-PCR) result.

Filipinos and foreign passengers merely transiting through India, Pakistan, Nepal, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh are not considered to have come from or been to such countries, provided they stayed in the airport the entire time and were not cleared for entry into these countries by their immigration authorities. Upon arrival in the Philippines, these passengers need not complete a full 14-day facility-based quarantine but shall comply with existing testing and quarantine protocols of the national government.

All specimens from travelers from India, Pakistan, Nepal, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh that test positive in the Philippines will be subjected to whole-genome sequencing. All close contacts must be quarantined in a facility for 14 days, and contact tracing must extend to third-generation contacts.

India, Nepal, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Bhutan, and the island nations of Sri Lanka and Maldives are all part of the Indian subcontinent.