In pursuant to the resolution released by the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-EID), all travelers from India are restricted from entering the Philippines starting April 29 to May 14 due to the surge of COVID-19 cases in the South Asian nation.
“All travelers coming from India or those with travel history to India within the last fourteen (14) days preceding arrival shall be prohibited from entering the Philippines beginning 0001H of April 29, 2021, until May 14, 2021,” said the Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque.
The spokesperson further said that those already in transit from India, as well as those with prior travel history to the country, would be exempt from the new restrictions if they arrive before April 29. However, regardless of the COVID-19 Reverse Transcription – Polymerase Chain Reaction (RT-PCR) test result, they must adhere to the strict 14-day facility-based quarantine duration.
Following the discovery of the double-mutant variant in the South Asian nation, India appears to be experiencing an aggressive virus resurgence.
According to Roque, the president may further expand the travel ban from other countries with reported cases of the new variant upon the recommendation of the Department of Health and the Department of Foreign Affairs.